Partners

Freedom Prep Middle School

In March 2012 the New Jersey Department of Education approved Democracy Prep to turn around Freedom Academy Charter School, a perennially low-performing middle school in Camden, New Jersey. The new name, Freedom Prep Charter School, reflects an adoption of Democracy Prep’s mission, DREAM values and successful instructional practices, as well our tireless work to deliver the highest quality, college preparatory education to Camden’s scholars.  For the 2014-15 school year Freedom Prep Middle School has moved into a space vacated by the recently closed D.U.E. Season Charter School and has absorbed many of the students displaced by the closure.

  • Quick Look

  • Regional Director: Ron Brady

  • Middle School Principal: Bridgit Cusato-Rosa

  • Anti-Bullying Coordinator: Greg Whitten
    greg.whitten@democracyprep.org
    (856) 962-0766 ext. 400

  • Current Enrollment: 324 students

  • Grades Served: 6 - 9

  • Core Curriculum: 2.5 hours of literacy, 1.5 hours of math, and 1 hour of History and Science each day, 2 hours of Art, Music or Physical Education/Health per week

  • Extracurricular offered: Flag football intramurals, girls' and boys' basketball, arts mural program, art club, community service club, track and field, dance team, school band, 8th grade science fair, SWAG

  • Announcements

  • Freedom Prep Board Meeting Dates
    Location: 1000 Atlantic Avenue, Camden NJ, 08104
    Time: 6:30 PM
    Thursday, August 29
    Thursday, September 26
    Thursday, October 31
    Thursday, November 21
    Thursday, December 19
    Thursday, January 30
    Thursday, February 27
    Thursday, March 27
    Thursday, April 24
    Thursday, May 29
    Thursday, June 26

We are the
Freedom Fighters
of Camden
who believe that
our scholars can
achieve academic
excellence

and prove the
stereotypes wrong
by working hard to
change the face
of Camden. 

Bridgit Cusato-Rosa
Principal

Enroll Teach Support